Losing Weight with Epilepsy.

Losing weight can be difficult when you’re also battling against uncontrolled Epilepsy or indeed controlled Epilepsy. This is due to many different things for example gaining or losing weight can have effect on medication as it may alter the amount you have in your body and diets that encourage fasting or lower calorie intake ie less than the recommended amount, can also have a negative affect and may increase the likelihood of a seizure. Losing weight can also be difficult when you have PCOS due to Insulin resistance and the way the body reacts to sugar and starch.

This being said it is possible to lose weight when you have Epilepsy and PCOS. I was advised by my GP to try Slimming World to help me with my weight loss. I listened to her as she has seen me struggling with my weight for years and knows how much I hated being on Orlistat (a weight loss drug) so wanted to do everything to avoid being back on it, plus I had tried slimming world before and knew it worked for me until I gave up after a month or two. Slimming World essentially has 3 main different eating plans. The one I am currently following is the Original Plan. To put it simply my diet mainly consists of meat, fish, vegetables and fruit. I get to have the odd treat as long as I am aware of their “syn value” but mainly I stick to meat, vegetables, fruit and the odd bit of dairy. I chose to follow this plan as it reminded me very much of the Ketogenic Diet along with guidelines I had been given about losing weight with PCOS.

The ketogenic diet is a high-fat, adequate-protein, low-carbohydrate diet that is often used to control Epilepsy in some children but not in adults in the UK presently. The diet forces the body to burn fats rather than carbohydrates, so by lowering the body’s carb intake it encourages the body to burn the fats as it has no other option. Carbohydrates in food are converted into glucose once ingested, which is then transported around the body and is important in fuelling brain function. However, if there is limited carbohydrate in the body’s diet, the liver converts fat into fatty acids and ketone bodies. The ketone bodies pass into the brain and replace glucose as the body’s energy source. An elevated level of ketone bodies in the blood, a state known as ketosis, leads to a reduction in the frequency of epileptic seizures.

The Slimming World Original plan is very similar to the Ketogenic Diet in that it limits the carbohydrate intake as you eat more protein instead, which can also be higher fat if you eat more red meat. This is also good as my fertility consultant said to lose weight with PCOS I would do well to follow a low GI and low Gluten diet. I have only been on the Slimming World Original plan for a week but I am already feeling the benefits and not just weight wise. My Epilepsy has been brilliant with minimal Absence seizures and no Tonic Clonic seizures. I won’t know about what affect it has had on my weight until tomorrow as that is my Slimming World weigh in day! So for now I’ll leave you with a few links for further reading if you’re interested in the Ketogenic Diet, weight loss with PCOS or Slimming World eating plans.

https://www.epilepsy.org.uk/info/treatment/other-ways-treating-epilepsy#ketogenic-diet

http://www.slimmingworld.com

http://www.weightlossresources.co.uk/diet/advice/pcos.htm

Blog/Tweet soon x

Please do feel free to comment on here or tweet me @HopeEpiMum

Leave a Reply

