UK National Fertility Awareness Week.

Today marks the start of National  Fertility Awareness Week here in the UK. All this week I am sharing facts and personal stories on my Instagram (LottieHope) my Twitter account (@HopeEpiMum ) and my Facebook account. Here in the UK one in six couples struggle with fertility issues. This week is about raising awareness and helping get rid of some of that stigma/taboo that surrounds infertility. I stand proudly and wear my IVF badge with pride, this is part of me and I will not be silenced or ashamed of that. I will be blogging as much as I can this week, especially as it coincides with my starting week of our FET.

As I mentioned before one in six couples in the UK have problems with conceiving a child that is approximately 3.5million people! That is a lot of people. Yet so many of them, me included, feel alone & at times depressed. People without fertility problems think that IVF is a surefire easy thing. That needs addressing, did you know that 60,000 IVF cycles are carried out in the UK annually (wow) and fewer than 25% of these are successful! I’m not trying to scare those doing IVF, I just want to show what we go through. After all in spite of that scary number one in fifty births in th UK are as a result of fertility treament! I instead want to flip the table and ask would those without fertility issues inject their stomach full of drugs twice daily for a month (twice daily being the time of day rather than how many injections you’re actually doing) & shove pessaries up their bum everyday for two weeks for a 25% chance of anything? It’s an exhausting, emotional & physically altering gamble. This journey isn’t a surefire thing and it isn’t easy, but us one in six are amazing people. So strong for going on even when we feel so low, for holding onto the hope and fighting every step of the way to achieve something that seems to come so easily to other people.

This week if you find yourself struggling reach out. Send me a message if you want or if that’s not what you need then reach out to Infertility Network UK a charity that is doing a lot of good work in the fertility community.

 
Blog/Tweet soon @HopeEpiMum x

2 thoughts on “UK National Fertility Awareness Week.

Leave a Reply

