A Sigh of Relief.

Today was the day of our Early Pregnancy Unit (EPU) scan. Unfortunately, my husband couldn’t get the time off work at such short notice so he was feeling even more angsty about what the appointment would hold. Luckily I didn’t have to go alone (not sure I ciudad have handled that to be honest) my mum used some of her work flexi time to come with me. There was a bit of a wait before I got called in, which didn’t help with the nerves especially as there were a few pregnant women there with young children who were running around without a care in the world. I found myself praying that I would never have to be back in this room and that in a few years we would have a toddler running about without a care in the world.

Upon entering the room I gave my mum strict instructions to stay firmly not at my business end, something I think we both appreciated! My mum had come with me to an internal scan to check if I had any ovarian cysts before I got my PCOS diagnosis a few years ago so least this wasn’t our first high strung scan encounter! Once derobed on the bottom half I jumped on the bed clutching my mum’s hand rather tightly. After what felt like an eternity, but in reality was probably no longer than a minute, the lovely lady doing the scan declared that all was well with baby. My mum and I cried. I had no idea how worried I was until I heard that everything was OK. Boba is currently measuring 8weeks 6days when I’m actually 9weeks 4days. This means Boba is measuring 5days behind, again there is a leeway of 3-4days either side so I’m not too worried at this point. My estimated due date isn’t changing for now, however it may do at our 12week scan. My mum asked to see Boba but the lady said no, to which mum didn’t know how to reply. Although the lady did follow this up with “well I’m not letting you see them before the mummy!” and turned the screen around. We saw Boba’s heart beating and it was amazing to see how much bigger they are compared to the 7week scan pictures! Boba is still firmly all snuggled up against my womb lining with their hands over their face. Little one likes to be comfy and is camera shy!

 

I’m so relieved and so in love! I rang my husband as soon as I could, he was so happy and a little bit jealous that we had got to see Boba without him. I’m looking forward to our midwife booking in appointment this Thursday! Another huge milestone in our baby journey. I may feel tired and need to wee a lot but I would not change this for the world! Even with the two weeks of bad nausea and our recent scare it’s all worth it knowing our little one is growing stronger each day.

Blog/Tweet soon @HopeEpiMum x

One thought on “A Sigh of Relief.

Leave a Reply

